RSS

I know I will fail, but I wish……

13 Nov

I know I will fail, i.e. the student protests will fail.

Achieve nothing or may be something but not the complete victory i.e. restoration of judges. Many will go to jails, many will be beaten, kicked outside their institutions.

They will be able to bring the defiant face, put pressure. In the end, however, the country is run by the Politicians, people with big portfolios, Benazir, Nawaz, Chaudries and our most beloved (pun intended) Maulana Fazlur-Rehman. They will use this pressure as bargain chip and they will get the bargain.

But I am will not subdue my self because of end, I shall try to stand when I can and hope that the stars are in reach of my hand.

Far away from country, sitting in the Free Society of America, how easy is it for me to say these things.

I wish, I wish the momentum to increase, the pressure to increase,…..

But again I know we are no more than bargain chips.

 

4 responses to “I know I will fail, but I wish……

  1. jonolan

    November 13, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Why would you even protest the removal of a clique of horribly corrupt people? Sure, martial law is scary – but is it actually any worse than what things were before?

    Are you just being played by other people who’ve told you that you should protest? Is it just a reaction to the “state of emergency”?

     
  2. mohsenali

    November 13, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    As for your first question about corrupts.

    See what people right now are protesting for; it is NOT restoration of democracy, its restoration of Judiciary.
    You can not kick a Judge out of office if he is going to give ruling against government.

    And About “is it worse that before?”

    Which before? On 3rd November when Mr. Musharaf imposed Emergency/Martial-Law, he himself was President of Pakistan. And by his so-called emergency only Supreme Court Judges have been replaced, the pro-Musharaf party is still holding Prime Minister office.

    So it was Musharaf doing cue against Musharaf; now civilians could be tried under the Military courts, judges could be sent home, electronic media could be sent off air, any one could be arrested if saying something against the rulers/army.

    Simple answer for
    “Are you just being played by other people who’ve told you that you should protest? Is it just a reaction to the “state of emergency”?

    What I feeling today is same as I felt 8 years ago when he overthrew the government of Nawaz Sharif. Then a large majority was not against him. But I had always believed that when the dictator comes, he destroys the system that can be used to question him. System that could be used to judge him and change the way the government is run.

    And History is the witness.

    Gen. Ayub Khan’s era of 10 years is known as Golder era of Pakistan, with industry, economy, media every thing flourishing. But it ended with worst; devision of Pakistan, our army accused of involved in massacre of its own citizens.

    Now today the attack is clearly on the Justice System of Pakistan which I as a common Pakistani feel was trying to stand up; thats what has angered people more.

     
  3. mohsenali

    November 13, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    http://www.naitazi.com/2007/11/13/students-baton-charged-48-held-in-islamabad/

    This might help you decide why people are protesting.

     
  4. jonolan

    November 13, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    Ok, I was just wondering since the Judiciary is well known to be horribly corrupt and Musharaf had a fair amount of popular support when he became Dictator of Pakistan.

     

Leave a Reply

 
