RSS

iPad; No Stylus, No Flash?

27 Jan

Ok I have just seen the video on the apple.com, read few things here and there.

I have not seen any stylus capabilities and CNN is saying that it does not have capability to run Multiple Applications 😦

Really, so it is iPad that can do much better than Kindle (well Steve Jobs said that they will stand on their shoulders) and it is bigger than iPhone. But nothing more ?

Basically it is not computer, it extended version of iPhone. Well they are targeting a different market especially a Kindle Market.

Person is travelling and wants to read and do some work while traveling, can pull it up from the bag, put in the lap, no need for pushing up the screen, just put it in the lap and start using. Want to read the book, see some movie, browse something; you will not be worried about the complex dynamics of the laptop. No space wasted by real keyboard or touch-pad.

I like the idea and the feel. I think Tablet is the way froward, but not chopped off tablet.

Right now it mostly looks like a extra machine someone wants to carry, like Fashion statement.  It will target one more market, people who say “Well I basically want surf the net?”; not the ones who say Hey I want to run matlab, or want to use it for my project.

Nothing bad in it, but I am disappointed.

I was looking forward for it to be more powerful. I would have loved it to have Stylus and capability for running multiple applications. Frankly I have 5 to 6 windows opened on my screen.  One is some programming environment, a browser checking my email, a document explaining some thing, some folders, here and there.

As for Stylus, that’s what I makes the a tablet attractive. No need of paper and pencil. No need to carry sheets and notepads.

So atleast right now it appears it is not for me 😦

 
24 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

24 responses to “iPad; No Stylus, No Flash?

  1. Jon Sims

    January 28, 2010 at 12:39 am

    yeah – it really needs a stylus! I didn’t know it only ran apps one at a time – are you sure?

     
    • mohsenali

      January 28, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      Jon, atleast that’s what CNN is saying

      “And the machine’s apparent inability to run multiple applications at the same time was getting some negative comments”
      http://www.cnn.com/2010/TECH/01/27/apple.tablet/index.html

      I was also disappointed with that, when even the mobile phones are moving towards the Multiple Applications at same time; why will you make a big machine without that capability.

       
  2. dan

    January 28, 2010 at 12:50 am

    The fact that the ipad cannot use a stylus and does not have one built in, is the reason that i am not getting 500 dollars ready. I am a college student and have owned a bad tablet laptop in the past for taking notes. I got rid of it shortly after i bought it because of the poor interface in tablet mode. this is something that i thought apple would have done much better.

    maybe this is only the first version and a student/ business version is coming in the future… but until i can use a stylus on the screen and run a real mac opperating system, my money is staying in the bank. If this turned into a PC that i could use in tablet mode, i would buy one in an instant.

     
    • mohsenali

      January 29, 2010 at 4:47 am

      I hoped also that after the Apple’s launch other people will throw new designs and products.

       
  3. Jeff Orchard

    January 28, 2010 at 2:23 am

    I totally agree. If it had a stylus and ran Matlab, I would buy one. But, as it is, I’ll stick with my iPhone and Windoze tablet for now (blah).

     
    • mohsenali

      January 29, 2010 at 4:45 am

      Yes Jeff. It even has at max 64 GB (I think they mean Hard-disk) . 64 GB? for the softwares, data, images and everything this is very minimum. So this adds up to my opinion that this is not for computing needs

       
  4. Steve

    January 28, 2010 at 4:24 am

    I totally agree about the lack of writing capabilities. I thought that was what a “Tablet” was suppose to be. I can do that with my HP and Windows Journal. Deeply disappointed. Just a Kindle/iTouch hybrid.

     
  5. Danro

    January 28, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Agree!! No Stylus?! As amazing as it looks, not having a stylus is a deal breaker for me. I mean its only common sense, i cant scribble notes (handwritten) on my laptop or my iphone, the iPad would have been perfect. Thats the number one reason i would want one. And i don’t mean that handwriting recognition crap, i hate those. I’m talking about notes i would take in my college courses, as a replacement for my pen and paper notebook. So disappointed!!! 😦

     
  6. Bryan

    January 28, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    If the iPad had a stylish built-in fine tip stylus with note taking and organizing software, along with the ability to purchase downloadable textbooks, then APPLE would sell MILLIONS of these to college students (especially those in the science, engineering, and art programs). I mean all your textbooks and notebooks in one nice looking piece of technology would be a dream. Just think of having an electronic textbook that you could highlight, bookmark, and save (possibly on a layer, because the book won’t be editable). I know some college departments have already made iPhones and/or iPods a required purchase of their students for education purposes. Can you imagine that just adding a stylus could make such a huge difference? I do! As a engineering graduate student I would love to use iPad as a lab notebook, while having important reference handbooks available at a whim, not to mention email, internet, and some tunes!!!

     
    • mohsenali

      January 29, 2010 at 4:38 am

      Yes Bryan that’s what I was expecting Apple’s iPad will do. Now I hope some 3rd company comes up with the application for that. But it will never be good as native capability

       
      • Kevin

        February 1, 2010 at 7:39 pm

        I was hoping it would do this as well, but it won’t happen as a 3rd party app because you’ll disrupt the iBook content purchase model that Apple has set up. Unless you figure out a way to cleverly create a “pdf editing” software that Apple doesn’t see for what it really is, then you’re up the proverbial creek.

        ALso, given the current push for digitization of medical records, you would have thought a stylus would have been a no-brainer, just MHO.

         
    • KAYRRIE

      April 6, 2010 at 7:14 am

      That little sleek simple stylus they could have easily incorporated into the iPad is the ONLY real reason I’m holding out for the next ipad generation in hopes they do add it. Everything you said it could of had is what I was hoping for too. It sounds like you should have been working for apple, maybe then they would have added all that great stuff. The textbooks on the ipad sounds amazing. (crossing my fingers and hoping the next generation has all that stuff). If they do add that stylus then I would get the ipad.

       
  7. Cinda Petrich

    January 29, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Lots of of bloggers are not really pleased with this new iPad.There was too much hoopla regarding it and lots of blogers got disapointed.You see, I actually see some of the awesome potential of the gadget. Third-party soft for playing tunes, games, newsprints and magazine and books, all kinds of awesome stuff, but IMHO they just didn’t really sell it right (aside from the books). It looks kinda incomplete

     
  8. john

    January 29, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Why i don’t want a iPad :
    iPad is so ugly !
    iPad doesn’t support flash !
    iPad doesn’t have camera !
    iPad have a 4/3 screen…

     
    • mohsenali

      January 30, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      Well John to be fair, it does not look ugly. However the first Desktop that appears to be replica of IPhone, I would definitely like to replace it with something else.

       
  9. Jeff Orchard

    January 30, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    OK, let’s not go too far. I DO want an iPad. I just have trouble justifying it to myself when it’s really nothing more than an iPhone that doesn’t fit in my pocket (minus, of course, the phone and camera). But I would gladly accept one as a gift.

     
  10. Otto

    February 1, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    I am wholeheartedly looking to buy the iPad from Apple, and I am excited to see what sorts of games and apps will be deployed for it. I just don’t get the hang of some of the nitpicky criticisms in this blog. Size of the bezel?? Puh-leeze!

     
  11. joren

    February 2, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I agree with danro 100%. No stylus is a deal breaker. It would make so much sense, for people who bring this thing into a meeting at work or a lecture/class at school. But I guess that would make too much sense. No multitask or flash either. But people will still buy it in the millions because that’s just how gullible and susceptible to good marketing they are.

     
  12. joren

    February 2, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Like Jeff Orchard (guy above). He doesn’t need one, wishes it had more, but like big dummy he will buy one. Many people like this guy will do the same. Just to be in the in crowd, and buy on impulse.

     
  13. Jon Tsourakis

    April 3, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Is there any idea when the ipad will have full stylus/drawing capabilities?

     
  14. KAYRRIE

    April 6, 2010 at 7:05 am

    I have to agree on your blog. I would love to get the iPad but the fact that it doesn’t have a stylus and does not multi-task is why I am opting to wait to see if they will improve on the next version of the iPad. When it comes down to it, the iPad is a giant iTouch/iPhone. I already have an iPhone and I don’t need a giant one to go along with it. I’ve also looked at other tablets like the HP slate but it’s the iTunes app store and all those apps that keep me waiting for a new iPad version hopefully with a stylus.

     
  15. SD

    April 13, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    The iPad is amazing… And it WILL support support a number of 3rd party stylus. Here’s one that’s been supported on the iPod touch which will now work on the iPad (I just ordered one). I also read that Wacom is selling a stylus for iPad too. I’ve seen different stylus listed on Amazon for $2-$15.

     

Leave a Reply

 
